RSS Feed

I Love Flannel!!!

This is going to be a quick one because I have to head out and get a new phone.  Very exciting considering that I have had my current phone for over 5 years.  I have to keep it plugged in or it makes this really sad dying robot sound to tell me that I have a low battery.

The reason for this post is two-fold (I don’t really understand the term “two-fold”, but people always sound really smart when they use it.  So, I am using it.  “I am so smart, s-m-r-t!”).  Reason a)  to give you a recipe that I am really proud of and 2)  to tell you about the upcoming blog post.

So, part a)  Flannel Hash!!!  I know, Goldie’s in Boise, Idaho makes Flannel Hash and I am sure that there are several other wonderful eateries out there that do as well.  But I live in Oregon now and am at least 6 hours (5 if someone else is driving) from Boise.  Yesterday afternoon I got a hankerin’ for some Flannel and prepped the beets and sweets and this morning I cooked them up. Here I go, TOOT TOOT TOOOOOOOOT.  Yes, I am tooting my own horn.  This was freakin’ amazing.  So good, in fact, that I just finished-off another bowl for lunch.  The other amazing part, its paleo-licious!!!!!   Yeah!!!

Oh yeah, and step 2) of this post, WHAT’S TO COME!!!  Later, hopefully today, but more realistically tomorrow, I will talk about sod.  Yup, sod.  That stuff that comes in rolls that people lay in their yards and then they have a lawn.  I know you are all vibrating with excitement (or anger, that you just wasted 2 minutes of your life reading this).

Here is the recipe.  Make lots because it goes fast.

 

Flannel Hash

Ingredients

  • 3-4 tennis ball sized beets
  • 1 yam or sweet potato
  • 4 strips of bacon, this is negotiable

Instructions

  1. Put the bacon in a large  cast iron skillet over medium heat.  Brown it up on both sides.  Remove from pan to a paper towel to drain.  Leave the bacon grease in the pan.
  2. While the bacon is cooking: Scrub the beets and trim the root end and the leaves (save the leaves, their really tasty).  Remove any really rough spots and chop into 1 inch cubes.  Throw into your food processor and pulse a couple of times. The pieces should be pea-sized or slightly smaller.
  3. Repeat step one with the sweet potato.
  4. After the bacon is cooked, dump the chopped beets and sweets into the pan with the bacon grease, over medium heat.
  5. Cover and cook, stirring every 3 minutes until the beets and sweets are tender (not mushy).  It will take 10-15 minutes.
  6. When done, chop up the bacon and stir into the sweets n’ beets.
  7. Serve with a runny egg on top.  Yum!!!
About diariesofathriftwhore

I am a 30-something year-old thrift whore. I have an obsession with all things old. Whether of value to all, aesthetically confusing or just solid. I love small towns and tight-knit communities. You will find me cooking, sewing, gardening, running a chainsaw or slaying the trails on a mountain bike.

Leave a Reply

